Tutkimus ja itsetutkimus/A research and self-examination

Olen siis itsetutkimusmatkalla, jonka aikana perkaan aikaisempia kirjoituksiani ja artikkeleitani tavoitellen jotakin uutta.

Havainnointi ja tutkiminen itsensä ja tuotostensa kautta on metodinen valinta ja ote. Ja samanaikaisesti, kun luen itseäni – konkreettisesti ja kuvaannollisesti, paneudun autoetnografiaan tutkimusmenetelmänä, ja pyrin hyödyntämään ja toteuttamaan sitä tällä itsetutkimusmatkalla.  Sain tänään postista Handbook of Autoethnography kirjan. Näinä päivinä alan työstää sitä ja palaan tässä blogissa autoetnografian opiskeluuni ja oppimaani myöhemmin.

Oma itse tutkimusvälineenä ja metodina liittyy ainakin refleksiivisyyteen. Se ei ole vain pohdintaa, reflektiota, vaan refleksiossa peilataan itsen ja oman työskentelynsä vaikutusta työskentelykohteeseen ja -prosessiin. Kun tutkimusmatka kohdistuu omaan aikaisempaan toimintaan ja sen tuloksiin kyse on tavallaan kaksinkertaisesta refleksiosta: miten historiallinen persoona ja työskentelykonteksti (autenttinen yhteiskunnallis-sosiaalinen tilanne ja spesifi aihe) tekstien tuottamisen yhteydessä ja niiden uudelleen lukemisessa ja analysoinnissa vaikuttavat ymmärryksen kehkeytymiseen ja syntyviin tuloksiin. 

Metodisessa mielessä pitäisi siis saada näkyviin kuva siitä, miten persoonani on muotoutunut 1990-luvun alusta nykypäivään ja miten tämä muotoutuminen on vaikuttanut ja vaikuttaa tuottamiini teksteihin ja niiden uudelleen tutkimiseen. Persoona(ni) on mukana ajassa. Jos aikaa 1990-luvun alusta tähän päivään yrittää tarkastella jollakin”isolla kuvalla”, niin erilaiset yhteiskunnallis-taloudelliset taantumat siivittävät tätä aikaa ollen nyt helmikuussa 2021 siinä tilanteessa, jossa taloudellinen kasvu on tullut ja tulee haastetuksi ilmastokriisiin ja luontokadon tosiasioilla (sisältäen akuutin covid 19 pandemian). Miten tämä tapahtumaketju on ollut ja on mukana tuottamissani ja analysoimissani teksteissä? Tekstieni aiheet liittyvät tarjoumaan, inhimilliseen ammattitaitoon, verkkokäyttäytymiseen, samanaikaisuuden dynamiikkaan ja kauniin eksistenssiin. Myös ne kontekstualisoituvat yhteiskunnallis-sosiaaliseen situaatioonsa ja minuun tekstien tuottamisen ja analysoinnin aikalaisena. Refleksiossa tarkastellaan yllä kuvattuja konkreettisia kysymyksiä. Tässä ne on esitelty refleksioteemoina, mutta itse tutkimusmatkan aikana ne konkretisoituvat tarkemmin – ja voivat saada rinnalleen jotakin tässä mainitsematonta.

So, I´ve started a self-examination journey via my old writings aiming to find something new. This self-examination is a conscious choice, and a methodic take as well. I first begin to study reflexivity differentiated from reflectivity. A reflexive action is focused on how researcher´s person and contexts of working influence to study targets and processes. My writings I will re-read and analyze begin from 1990-decade extending  to present 2021. The reflexive question is how has my person changed while this period, and how has it effected to the writings and analyses of them. The person and personality lives in time. My tentative interpretation is that since the 1990´s to the present time cyclic socio-economic recessions color this period being now in February 2021 in situation where economic growth is challenged by the facts of climate crisis and biodiversity loss  (including covid 19 pandemic). How does this societal horizon effect to my self-examination journey is the second reflexive question. The contents of my re-reading and analysis texts are affordance theory, human competence (emotional knowhow especially), online behavior, pedagogy of simultaneity (layers of time, place and social presence), and working via beauty. They also contextualize themselves to specific environments of appearance of their writing time, and it has its effect on understanding them in their production epoch and when analyzing them.  This is the third reflexive question for the study trip.  The questions mentioned above are part of a studying and learning process of autoethnography, which begins in coming days; i.e. I just received the Handbook of Autoethnography and am eager to start reading it. Comments about my autoethnography studies available  later in this blog.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by peeii. Bookmark the permalink.

4 thoughts on “Tutkimus ja itsetutkimus/A research and self-examination

  1. Hello there Pekka. Interesting structure here for a self-study of sorts.

    Curious to see how that societal horizon impacts your reflexive approaches and how this might all sit with autoethnography. What are your methods of data collection here? Journals, writing, media? I suppose all could be considered in the approaches you are suggesting and the questions you are asking.

    ‘My tentative interpretation is that since the 1990´s to the present time cyclic socio-economic recessions color this period being now in February 2021 in situation where economic growth is challenged by the facts of climate crisis and biodiversity loss (including covid 19 pandemic)’

    I suspect it would be difficult not to have this thinking colored especially in the current crisis and I wonder what level of impact that would have on what you produce ethnographically. I am finding it hard in my writing not to mention Covid even when it doesn’t directly relate to the subject at hand; just feels strange not to mention it but I fear it is unduly colouring my thinking.

    Stay well Pekka. Look forward to what you come up with!

  2. Hi Michael, and thanks for your comment. Your question about my data collection methods: my basic data comes from my writings (including articles we have written together) and photos, videos, drawings etc. I have done during years of my life within those five topics (affordance theory, human competence, online behavior, pedagogy of simultaneity and aesthetic literacy/acting via beauty ). How they then connect themselves to my social relations and the society around me in different time periods is rather open – probably the data comes from texts and other artifacts, which somehow become relevant to me. And the autoethnography method; as far as I understand it now (my next blog post about it is in process, hopefully available in few days) it means to me to reflex my experiences by interviewing myself (especially via the texts I have written). A sort of combination of evocative and analytic autoethnography. Maybe something new, not conscious yet :-).

  3. Self-interviews are an interesting method Pekka. It necessitates a large degree of reflective practice. I wonder if such activity would also surface assumptions made at varying stages of your life (underlying assumptions or bias) and noting how those have changed over a course of time.

  4. yup, you’re right. Reflections over the all reflexive acts are necessary, and demanding and possibly having bias effects as well. I try to make my takes public here in my blog and by this way open to assess and criticize.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *